News & Events

EIT Digital Master School kicks-off new academic year for European education on technology and business in Paris

EIT Digital Master School Kick-Off

EIT Digital Master School Kick-Off

EIT Digital Master School Kick-Off

EIT Digital Master School Kick-Off

From 25-27 October, 400 international EIT Digital Master School students studying in one of our European partner universities will gather in Paris for the yearly Kick-Off of the EIT Digital Master School. This three-day event marks the beginning of Europe's premier technical education programme for innovation and entrepreneurial talents, to realise Europe’s digital transformation.

The Kick-Off introduces the new academic year for a European education that learns student’s deep tech technologies and how to put these into business. The Kick-Off will be held at the Sorbonne Université, one of the EIT Digital technical education partners in Europe.

Business Challenge

The new Master School students will come together to be submitted by an exhausting, yet inspiring programme. The focus of the three days Kick-Off is the business challenge. The students are tasked to think out and pitch an innovative business idea in a realistic business challenge competition. In so doing, they start building the foundation of their pan-European network.


Furthermore, the students will be inspired by keynotes of EIT Digital partners like Stéphane Quéré, COO Global Smart Businesses at ENGIE, a global energy and services group, Xavier Boidevezi, Vice President of the Digital Factory Group SEB, a worldwide leader in small domestic appliances and Bryan Roeten, the COO of the French scaleup Copsonic that is specialised in digital audio solutions and new technologies. A special keynote will be given by Xin Hu, founder and CEO of the scaleup company MatchX, manufacturer of LPWAN hard- and software. Hu is a former student of the EIT Digital Master school and recently joined the EIT Digital Accelerator.

Learning to think as an entrepreneur is a key element of the technical EIT Digital Master School. The programme seeks out the best technical students and equips them with cutting-edge technical knowledge and business skills so that they can go on to help assure Europe's role in the global digital economy.


According to Arturo Varona, Head of the EIT Digital Master School, the school prepares newly enrolled students for the needs of industry. “Europe needs our students to catch up in the digital economy. The story of Xin Hu, is a great example on how our students put their deep technological knowledge into business. The industry is also recruiting our t-shaped students. They need people who understand both technology and business.


EIT Digital Master School students can choose to study from technical master school programmes taught by a network of top European universities. During the two-year course, they will have to complete a work placement as well as a two-week Summer School programme. Graduates of the programme will be rewarded with a double master's degree coupled with a certificate from the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT). Currently, 18 partner universities in eight countries participate in the scheme.

The programmes the universities participate in are:

  • Autonomous Systems (AS)
  • Cloud computing and Services (CCS)
  • Cyber Security (CS)
  • Data Science (DSC)
  • Embedded Systems (ES)
  • Human Computer Interaction and Design (HCID)
  • Internet Technology and Architecture (ITA)
  • Visual Computing and Communication (VCC)

See for more details, programme and venue information our dedicated website.

Below is the list of participating universities welcoming international students within the EIT Digital Master School Programmes.

Finland Aalto UniversityThe University of Turku (UTU)
France Sorbonne University (former Université Pierre et Marie Curie),  University of Rennes 1 (UR1), University of Nice-Sophia Antipolis (UNS), University Paris-Sud (UPS), IMT AtlantiqueEURECOM
Germany Technische Universität Berlin
Hungary Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE), Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME)
Italy University of Trento (UNITN), Politecnico di Milano (POLIMI)
Netherlands Delft University of Technology Delft (TUDelft), University of Twente (UT), Technical University of Eindhoven (TUE)
Spain Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM)
Sweden KTH Royal Institute of Technology

© 2010-2020 EIT Digital IVZW. All rights reserved. Legal notice

Supported by the EIT